Skip navigation

The weekend was lots of fun. Saturday, my aunt’s mother, father, and brother (no relation to me) were over. Her dad help me set up my blog. We spent the day painting the kitchen, and had sushi for lunch. My aunt, who is perhaps the most supportive in my decision to become vegan, made shrimp nori rolls and then made several avocado and cucumber rolls for me. I took a picture of them but still am unsure how to upload photos onto the blog.

We had a little discussion on veganism. I was complaining about finding a recipe for cheese fondue when looking up vegan recipes on the food network (I’m sure all you veteran vegans are just shocked to learn that they don’t have too many of those there). My aunt’s mom was like: “What’s wrong with that? What is a vegan any how?”

“Vegan is unhealthy,” My  older cousin interjected.

“No,” my aunt’s dad said. “Vegans don’t eat animals products. No meat, no eggs, or dairy”

“Or gelatine,” I added. I was going to mention how most vegans don’t eat honey either but my younger cousin asked: “What’s wrong with Jell-O?

“Jello-O is made from horses’ hooves.” My uncle said.

“And animal bones,” I continued.

“I will never eat Jell-O again!” She declared, repulsed.

I don’t know the reaction most people get when they announce that they’re vegan but my reactions have been mixed. My mom, who I still haven’t told about my decision, would be very leery but supportive. My older cousin, the one who made the above comment about veganism being unhealthy responded with a very uncomfortable “Oh.” My aunt had said, without even missing a beat, had said:”Oh that’s no problem!” She proceeded to hand me some paper to make a list of the food I wanted to get. My aunt’s dad had lauded me to sky and remarked how he wished he was able to go vegan and her brother was respectful but made several smart remarks about the glories of bacon. I suppose this is something, like the taste of vegetables, I will just have to get accustomed to.

Today, in between updating my quizilla account and chatting with people on Facebook, I looked up easy recipes, and vegan chatrooms on the internet. I figure that in 0rder to make this transition I’m gonna need a lot of moral support and of course I’m gonna need good food!

With luck, my next post will contain a good recipe and a picture. *Crosses fingers hopefully*

2 Comments

  1. i love reading about how other vegans’ friends and family react to the lifestyle. i, too, have had some comments made, but nothing major yet. i’m kinda shy about it right now since i still feel like i am figuring things out, but i’m not really hiding it. my mom doesn’t know either, but we live so far away so it hasn’t really come up in conversation. that sushi looks good! we’ve been wanting to make some meatless sushi for a while. the huz loves sushi…
    ~wendy
    http://conradvisionquest.wordpress.com/

    • The most amusing part was I didn’t even have to come to my own defense: everyone else was like “Oh, A____, that’s not right at all.”
      As for the sushi, the impressive thing is my aunt made two different types of nori rolls IN A KITCHEN THAT WAS BEING PAINTED. My mom, God bless her heart, can’t keep dinner from burning to save her life.


Leave a Reply

